The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

Purple
Image from Amazon.co.uk

There are many books that can be defined as a classic dependent upon one’s interpretation. In the case of Alice Walker’s, the colour purple I define this as one such book. As I’ve worked my way through my classic’s list, it was time to read this one. They say good things come to those who wait, and I feel this statement really echo’s that. Alice Walker has written a novel that is significant, revealing and insightful to the time period in the deep American South.

The novel spans a few decades covering themes of oppression, poverty, rape and segregation from the point of view of Celie. Who narrates this novel through letters to God and her sister Nettie.

Celie is forced into marriage, is separated from her sister and despite the hardships she endures comes across a glamorous woman, Shug Avery. Celie sees the fighting spirit within Shug and is in awe of her which helps Celie to find her own strength to reunite with those she loves.

A truly remarkable read and one that will stay with me for a long time. Alice Walker wrote this novel using letters as the narrative. I’ve come across this style before and it doesn’t always give you a full picture of the surroundings or environment in which the novel is set. However, Alice has achieved it. I felt the true depth of the American South, I connected with Celie and felt her pain and struggles.

This is a wonderful novel written beautifully and should be celebrated for its literary marvelousness.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑