Books to add to your Christmas list

Christmas
Image from pixabay.com

After being asked what books I would recommend for a Christmas gift this year I thought I’d share 5 books that I’ve enjoyed reading this year. (The first however I haven’t read, but it’s on my Christmas wish list) 

First it would have to be The Book of Dust Volume 2: The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman. This is an anticipated read of mine as I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the world Philip Pullman created in his Dark Materials trilogy, in The Book of Dust Volume 1: La Belle Sauvage. So, for fans of The Northern Lights, The Amber Spyglass and The Subtle Knife, then this is a must.  

The second book I’d recommend is another sequel. The Testaments by Margaret Atwood continues with life in the dystopian world of Gilead from The Handmaids Tale. I found both these to be great reads despite the first being written over 30 years ago. As Margaret Atwood has won The Booker Prize 2019 award this says it’s a worthy gift.  

If you are not a fan of either of those but prefer something more from the crime genre; that is fast paced, then I highly suggest you seek out books staring the con-artist turned lawyer, Eddie Flynn. A character created by Steve Cavanagh. These books include; The Defence, The Plea, The Liar and my personal favourite, Thirteen. This book is a work of genius. 

For a younger audience I’d take a look at The land of Neverendings by Kate Saunders. I thought this was a great story as the gateway between our world and that of toys has been fractured. Thus, resulting in toys causing all kinds of shenanigans. 

Again, for a younger audience try one with a bit of magic and folklore in The house with chicken legs by Sophie Anderson. This was a lovely read that has magic, mystery and a really great house.  

All books (except The Book of Dust volumes) have reviews on my blog so if you need a re-cap on what they are about please take a look. 

4 thoughts on “Books to add to your Christmas list

Add yours

    1. Hi Hina, the books on this list are not ‘Christmassy’, but they do feel magical. Especially the ones by Philip Pullman. Also The House with Chicken Legs and The Land of Neverendings. I like to suggest books that I’ve enjoyed over the year as I think a book is a great gift.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for reading my posts. I hope you find something that you’d like to add to your Christmas list. I think books are a great gift and I like to share what I’ve enjoyed over the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: